"Caring, considerate and efficient"

About: Salisbury District Hospital

I have just completed a procedure involving an operation on my achilles tendon. My GP enlisted me into the "Choose and Book" service to see a consultant. I could choose from three hospitals - only Salisbury actually operated the system correctly. The other two gave telephone numbers which were not monitored! Advice came by post of appointment date and time - literate and timely - with good information about access, parking and map of the premises. Very helpful out patient reception - courteous, friendly and efficient. Consultant plain speaking but friendly - recommended steroid injection. Again arrangements for the procedure good - seen on time; everything explained; put at ease. In due course procedure had no long term benefit so decided on operation. Consultant conscientious in pointing out risks and gave comprehensive information about procedure. Spent a long time on waiting list for the operation but the team managing the operations list courteous and patient despite me regularly chasing them for a date. Pre-op assessment very professionally done and good advice and information given. Eventually given a short notice appointment for the actual procedure to be carried out - staff used initiative and persistence to contact me despite me being away on holiday and followed up on all their promises. Good briefing on day of operation - anaesthetist particularly good at putting me at ease. Surgeon busy but found time to reassure me before entry to theatre. Post op recovery room very well staffed - perhaps too many but maybe a quiet day - and immediate recovery well managed with tact, care and patience. Then to Amesbury Ward - nice people, excellent service without fuss. Good food. Physiotherapy team helpful and conscientious - good advice. Discharge well managed - no long wait for medications - RUH Bath and Great Western Swindon please note and learn! - but discharge notes almost illegible and full of medical jargon. Suggest use a computer produced template in future. Had a query re ongoing treatment five days after discharge - Amesbury ward staff helpful; honoured promise to ring back - could not have been more helpful. One failing - I was not notified of first follow up appointment and only found out by accident. Subsequent appointments all well managed together with one initiated by me involving plaster room staff who were patient and caring and some good use of humour. Finally "off the books" with another out patient appointment - seen early and again entirely satisfactory. Screens in orthopaedic waiting rooms not all adverts but give useful details of staff and their CVs plus updates on waiting times. Staff themselves also come into the waiting area to give updates when running late - well done. This is clearly a well managed facility - staff are trained and motivated to treat patients as customers and backed up by good, reliable systems. Highly recommended. PS - cooked food in main restaurant awful - avoid.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Salisbury District Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a comprehensive assessment of your treatment. You have made so many positive comments about our staff and our hospital and we are pleased that we have looked after you with the professionalism, patience and understanding that is so important to our patients. We will of course pass on your thanks to the teams involved, and the two points you have raised about discharge notes and the follow up appointment, as this feedback is useful for us when we look at how we can make further improvements to our services. In the meantime, thank you again for your comments and we wish you well for the future.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful