"Short of staff and beds in labour ward and triage"

About: Wexham Park Hospital

I was told I had to be booked in for a Caesarian ,after much persistence and help from a few good doctors and midwives they agreed that I could try for a natural delivery (VBAC)When her labour started I was directed to triage- as was told I needed to be closely monitored.after monitoring me and the baby's heart rate for a short time - we were left to our own devises -when my mother thought I was in the 3 rd stage of labour She went to call the nurse to tell her i was going to deliver- nurses rushed in and told me I couldn't have the baby there and needed to go to the labour ward. To my discomfort i was put on a chair and wheeled to the labour ward- where I was no longer able to sit I got up and fell to the floor. Staff then took me into the labour room and told me they had no handover and were to treat me as an emergency.I went on to have good care from the doctors and midwives in the unit and safely delivered my beautiful daughter .I had the natural birth I wanted but not an optimum experience. My concerns are : poor facilities and lack of privacy in the triage area- understaffed. ? Communication issues between labour ward and triage.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wexham Park Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent experience at Wexham Park Hospital. I am sorry that this special occasion was blemished by your experience in Maternity Triage. We are working towards a improved facility as part of a refurbishment project. Privacy and dignity feedback will inform the changes we make to improve the experience. We always strive to give a high standard of care, we apologise that on this occasion you felt that the communication between the midwife from Maternity Triage and that of the midwife on Labour Ward was sub-optimal. We are sorry that you and your mother had to endure this. I would like take this opportunity to congratulate you on the birth of your beautiful baby daughter. I am pleased that you were able to achieve a normal birth and that you are both making good progress. If you need to discuss this matter further, I am happy for you to contact me. Monica Warren Frimley Health NHS Foundation Trust Interim Lead Midwife for Intrapartum Care Wexham Park Hospital SLOUGH SL2 4HL Tel: 01753 634474 Mobile:07899 066670 Email: monica.warren@hwph-tr.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful