"Appalling treatment"

About: Derriford Hospital

You should read this, before you consider having any treatment at this hospital! I have had the worst nightmare of my life at Derriford hospital, and they have ruined my life. Be warned, I sadly had a neurological operation in January 2012, to remove a nodule which they thought was pressing on my nerve, causing pain in the dorsal part of my right foot. The neurosurgeon was confident that he could make some improvement to this. Now I have lost most of the feeling to the total right hand side of my right foot, I have pains up and down my leg. I have to deal with constant pain, weakness, numbness, hot and cold feelings, spiky stabbing sensations, poor control, and coordination. This hospital is totally irresponsible, the appointments prior to the operation were chaotic, there was never enough time to discuss things property. The operation was done late on a Thursday afternoon, and I am convinced that it was rushed, after being commenced to late in the day. After the operation, I had a tremendous amount of trauma in my foot, I knew then that something had gone badly wrong. But the senior on duty, was not interested in what I was telling her, all she was interested in was sending me home. Ever since then Derriford have totally ignored me and the situation, despite writing and emailing the consultant, he just see fit to ignore me. This neurosurgeon has broken most of his licence conditions, that he is expected to observe by the General Medical Council, and yet, still the Chief executive is prepared to let him practice on other patients. I have written to the Chief executive as well, and have been totally ignored. I have suggested scans, recommended by other respected consultants, and this has been totally ignored as well, after asking for support to get these scans done. Derriford hospital has destroyed the nerve functionality to my right foot and my right leg, and have left me as a disabled person. There was no after care whatsoever, they could not get me out of the hospital fast enough. I was briefly seen by a Physiotherapist, and given a piece of paper with six exercises on it, and told to go home. That was the total extent of Derrifords after care. I have spent the last 2 1/2 years trying to deal with the pain, and the loss of functionality, and feeling of my right foot. My surgeon was a very arrogant man, his key phrase was, well it is you that will have to live with it. It was almost like he knew exactly what was going to happen. I did ask him for the percentage likely hood of a bad result, but he just sat in his chair, and ignored my question. Derriford hospital has destroyed my quality of life, I have spent hundreds of hours contacting all the departments within the NHS, to try and get this mess rectified, if that is even possible now. But please be advised that you will not find any support, or concern from most departments, you will quickly learn, that you are basically out there on your own. I would never recommend this hospital

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Genny Turner, Senior Quality Facilitator, Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust

Good morning Mr Fittock,

I am so sorry to hear that you are not happy with the service that has been provided by the Neurology team.

I would appreciate it if you would be kind enough to contact our Patient Advise Liaison Service (PALS). The team will be able to take more identifiable details from you. Please call 01752 432564 or email:- plh-tr.PALS@nhs.net

This will enable us to contact the neurology service to establish a way forward for you.

Best wishes

Genny

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Genny Turner, Senior Quality Facilitator, Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust

Dear Mr Fittock

We have reviewed our files and see that an in-depth investigation into your concerns was carried out and the outcome of which has been communicated with your in writing following a meeting with the Trust’s Medical Director and Patient Experience Manager.

I am sorry if you are dissatisfied with the outcome of your complaint and if you feel these matters require further attention we would propose that you contact the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman.

Best wishes

Genny

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Derriford Hospital

We have reviewed our files and see that an in-depth investigation into your concerns was carried out and the outcome of which has been communicated with your in writing following a meeting with the Trust’s Medical Director and Patient Experience Manager. I am sorry if you are dissatisfied with the outcome of your complaint and if you feel these matters require further attention we would propose that you contact the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman. Best wishes Genny

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful