"Sussex Mental Healthline"

About: Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust / Working age mental health care (community)

(as the patient),

For the past year I have been experiencing difficulties with my mental health to the point of being suicidal and being unable to work. I was advised by my care co-ordinator to ring this line when distressed.

Some of the workers have been really helpful. However, some of the workers are extremely unskilled and overall they give mixed messages. On two occasions I felt dismissed, criticised for calling.

I would be very careful ringing this helpline and I feel it should come with the warning it may be very helpful or could cause damage to your mental health.

Unfortunately I have found the latter to be the case due to inexperienced workers.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Anon202,

Thank you for your comments. I was very concerned to hear about your experience with the Sussex Mental Healthline; this is certainly not how we would want anyone to feel and we are grateful that you have raised these concerns to us so we can look at improving our service.

I was also glad to hear that you have had some positive experiences when you have contacted the Healthline. I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you directly and hear about your experiences. I would hope to address any concerns in my teams usual supervisory way. I would also hope to draw up a support plan to assist all of our operators in how best to help you in future.

Thank you once again for commenting on our service. I hope that you will contact me on 01903 843239 or alternatively our PALS service on 01903 843022.

Best wishes

Monique Devlin,

Team Leader Sussex Mental Healthline