"Labour Ward Midwives"

About: Royal Derby Hospital

I gave birth last week at the Royal Derby Hospital and was very disappointed with the level of care I received from some of the midwives, after my C-section I was breastfeeding my baby when I began to be sick the midwife just watched as my partner ran to find something to collect the sick in as I filled the bowl and sick went onto my new born the midwife just walked away and didn't even check to see if me or the baby were ok!! The first morning after my C-section I woke up very dizzy and needed the toilet the midwife said she would help me out of bed and guide me to the toilet as I got out of bed she walked of and left me as I reached the toilet I thought I was going to pass out and had to hold onto the door because I couldn't breath properly and I was so dizzy the midwife was no where to be seen!! However there were two midwives that were so nice, caring, supportive and I liked the one day they were there however, on shift change I had a very rude midwife, I asked if she could support me to change and feed my new born as I was a little unsure and she said no do it yourself! and she walked off. That night she came in to do the checks on me but an no point did she even ask how I was feeling so I don't know how she performed her checks correctly! when she came to do the checks she would rudely pull open the curtain not even talk to me and grab my arm and do my blood pressure, as you can imagine it was a shock to be woken up in the middle of the night in such a way! when she would finish the blood pressure she would just walk off and not even close the curtain so again sore from my C-section I would have to get out of bed and close it she did this all night! even when asked to close it she just walked off! I asked the nice midwife if I could be discharged, I didn't want to stay at the hospital as it was making me feel worse! im disgusted with some of the midwives as its such a special time and they ruined it with their bad attitudes and rude manners!! Im so glad for the two nice midwives I just wished I could remember their names so they could get the recognition they deserve!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Derby Hospital

Many thanks for providing us with your valuable feedback following your recent stay with us for the birth of your new born baby. All patient feedback, whether good or bad, is very important to us as this give us the opportunity to rectify problems wherever possible, learn lessons and implement changes to improve the care and services we provide to our patients in the future. We were very sorry and disappointed to hear of the treatment provided to you by one of the midwifery team and we will certainly ensure this information is shared with the senior staff in this area. However, to enable us to investigate this matter, take further action and respond to you more fully, we would need to have more specific information and therefore if this is something you would like us to do, can you please consider contacting our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS), on Freephone 0800 7837691 or via email on dhft.contactpals@nhs.net In the meantime please accept our sincere apologies for any upset caused to you on this occasion and once again many thanks for taking the time to propvide us with your feedback as a service user of our maternity services. Kind regards and congratulations to you and your family on the birth of your new born baby! Deborah Furness, member of the Patient Experience Team for Derby Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful