"Treatment within 18 weeks....don't make me laugh!"

About: Royal Lancaster Infirmary

I attended an Orthopaedic clinic back in June. I was told by them that the operation I need will be an 8 week wait. I'd like to know why I was lied to! I've had all the relevant pre-op checks in July which is the last time I've heard from the hospital. If there is a delay or a very long waiting list why are patients not being told this? Instead we have or put our lives on hold waiting for a letter or a phone call and when we do phone up the waiting list office and speak to someone when they can be bothered to answer the phone you speak to a person who is rude and unhelpful. The NHS constitutional pledge about being treated within 18 weeks is complete rubbish! as is the NHS Choice being in the hands of the patient. If I had known or told this would take over 5 months I would have asked to be treated elsewhere. Now I have no choice at all but sit it out whilst I'm being harassed by my employers for a date as they will need to find cover for me while I am off.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Royal Lancaster Infirmary

We are very sorry that you have not received the care you expected. The issues you raise have been picked up by the department and are being fully investigated. Please could you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01539 795497 so we can respond directly to you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful