"The attention the diabetic nurses ..."

About: King's Mill Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

The attention the diabetic nurses and obstetrics department paid to me was wonderful. Also the nurses in the children's ward where my baby daughter passed away were lovely, even sending a condolence card a year later to acknowledge the anniversary of her death. This was going far beyond what I expected from them.

What could be improved

The Dukeries building is an eyesore. I didn't want to give birth there due to the curled up carpets and dirty looking furniture. This is not the problem of the staff, it is the age of the building.

Also, the DVLA requested I be seen by the Diabetic Consultant , and his receptionist was incredibly rude, telling me he 'did not want to see' me. She didn't consult him on this, just refused to let me see him... I did not get my driving licence back for 8 months as a result of her obstinance. If I can't get an appointment with him for a short consultation to get my licence renewed (something I then had to go to my GP for months later) then what on earth does he do all day?

Anything else?

The nurses and chaplain are very very helpful and hopefully with my next pregnancy, I will receive the same care as I did before, but I will refuse to see the diabetic consultant.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from King's Mill Hospital

March 2009 - Thank you for your comments however it is difficult to address specific concerns via a website, it is also difficult to address issues that are a long time in the past. We will ensure that your thanks to the staff you have mentionned are fed back.

You are probably aware that the hospital is in the process of a major rebuilding project at the moment and I would like to take this opportunity to reassure you that the obstetric and maternity wards and out patient services within the Dukeries Centre will move to brand new state of the art buildings once the new unit is completed.

Please contact our Patient Advice Office if you would like further details.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful