"Fantastic nursing staff"

About: Monklands District General Hospital / Dermatology

(as the patient),

I would like to start my e mail by thanking all of the nursing staff on Ward 15 as they have been fantastic. It was a real pleasure dealing with them when I required anything from a treatment to advice. I would ask that they are made aware of my feelings on this matter as I will not be able to thank them all personally before I leave.

I do have a complaint with regards the television service. It is ridiculously expensive and the value for money is a disgrace. I am a sky customer and have skygo which allows me to watch my tv online anywhere in the world, with the exception of the hospital. To block services like this from being able to be viewed to force patients who are,  in many cases, fiscally challenged is bordering on criminal.

I would also say that the staff are put on too much pressure as half of the time I have been here they have had to work at 50% on their nightshift. Some of the patients in Dermatology have serious health conditions and need assistance throughout the night. This is not acceptable as the staff quotas in Dermatology should not be here to supplement any staffing elsewhere within the hospital.

I would like to heap particular praise on Emma Travers who has been left to deal with a whole ward at night for the last few days. She is a credit to the ward and to nursing in general. Please let her know that I have thanked her personally and think she should be recognised by her peers for her efforts. I don't think I would have I would have been able to handle the pressure she must have been under at such a young a age. At no point did she stop smiling and being available to everyone when required.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Rhona Roberton, Director of Hospital Services, Monklands Hospital, NHS Lanarkshire

picture of Rhona Roberton

Dear JCost,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post your views. I will certainly pass on your kind comments about ward 15 to the staff and in particular to Emma. I will also let Emma know how supported you felt by the care she provided.

Staffing is reviewed on a shift by shift basis and only in exceptional circumstances is a nurse moved from a ward to ensure safe, effective care.

I share your comments about the cost of the television serivce. Unfortunately, this service is a national service with national charging tarrifs. Thank you for highlighting the point about access for mobile devices. I will certailny look into this to see what we can provide for mobile devices.

regards

Rhona

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Skin Conditions Campaign Scotland

Dear JCost,

Skin Conditions Campaign Scotland thanks you for speaking out about the care you experienced from the nursing staff in Ward 15 at Monklands Hospital.

The ward where you were treated is one of the very few exclusive dermatology wards remaining in Scotland. These exclusive dermatology wards are dedicated to the best possible support for people with severe skin conditions and patients receive 24/7 care delivered by skilled and specialist dermatology nurses and doctors. More patients must speak out if they wish to retain the highest quality, specialist and effective dermatology care they need within NHS hospitals in Scotland.

Should you wish to contact us directly, you may do so on info@skinconditionscampaignscotland.org.

Thank you again

Response from Rhona Roberton, Director of Hospital Services, Monklands Hospital, NHS Lanarkshire

picture of Rhona Roberton

Dear JCost,

I said I would feeback to you regarding the use of mobile devices. I now have had the opportunity to gather more information. I can advise that across NHSL we do have a free public wi-fi service for patients and their relatives. This has been in place for around a year. However, we do not allow users of the system to stream video, live web video such as Sky GO etc, as by doing so this would have a detrimental effect on the responsiveness of the service to everyone using it due to the network bandwith this type of activity can generate.

I hope this helps explain the reason why we cannot access SkyGo at this time.

Regards

Rhona

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story