"Good for the first week, after that - terrible!"

When I first arrived at Chalkhill the patients were more welcoming than the staff! I was told that I would be put on 1-2-1 but never saw that actually happen! One of the male staff later in my stay told me to "stop being pathetic" and to "not cause problems for myself" because I was having a crisis and apart from mentioning it that once I was left to just sit and cry in the corner! When it was time to start thinking about discharge after 7 weeks my primary nurse said she knew I wasn't ready to leave yet and was going to help me do some work on my self esteem before I left! And yet in my review meeting the next day she was unable to attend and my other nurse was there and none of the staff listened to me during that meeting. So I ended up getting discharged way before I was ready to! And it also seemed that because I wasn't there with an ED (although I did have one at the time but it wasn't 'serious') I, along with a few other patients, were left to just wander about and do our own thing whilst all the ED patients were constantly being entertained/offered things to do/with the staff to talk to. I don't feel that the hospital helped me in anyway because I was still able to self harm in there and I saw more than one way to kill myself whilst in there as well! But when I mentioned to the staff I was feeling suicidal they just said okay and told me they'd check back on me later - which they never did. I am very angry about the service I received and I know some of the other patients (some of whom are still there now) weren't happy either because they often told the other patients about why they were unhappy/angry. The patients were very often left out of making decisions about their care and none of us really felt heard!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Claire King, PALS Officer, Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us, we take all comments seriously and have listened to your views on your experience of our service.

I am very disappointed to hear that you have had a poor experience at Chalkhilll and apologise for any distress that this may have caused you.

A number of things you have said are very concerning to us and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you if you would find that helpful.

Alternatively you can talk to the Patient Advice and Liaison service who would be able to support you in making a formal complaint should you wish to do so.

We are committed to ensuring that all our patients have a positive experience of the services we provide and I would like to assure you that your feedback will be discussed and reflected upon by the team here at Chalkhill.

Nick Clark

Matron at Chalkhill

I am sorry that we were unable to post our response to your comments sooner. This was due to technical difficulties experienced with the NHS Choices website that were out of our control.

Patient Advice and Liaison Service

Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Telephone: 01903 843022

Email: Pals@sussexpartnership.nhs.uk

Website: www.sussexpartnership.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Chalkhill

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us, we take all comments seriously and have listened to your views on your experience of our service. I am very disappointed to hear that you have had a poor experience at Chalkhilll and apologise for any distress that this may have caused you. A number of things you have said are very concerning to us and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you if you would find that helpful. Alternatively you can talk to the Patient Advice and Liaison service who would be able to support you in making a formal complaint should you wish to do so. We are committed to ensuring that all our patients have a positive experience of the services we provide and I would like to assure you that your feedback will be discussed and reflected upon by the team here at Chalkhill. Nick Clark Matron at Chalkhill I am sorry we were unable to post our response to your comments sooner. This was due to technical difficulties experienced by the NHS Choice website which were out of our control. Patient Advice and Liaison Service Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust Telephone: 01903 843022 Email: PALS@sussexpartnership.nhs.uk Website: www.sussexpartnership.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful