"Awful waiting times in Triage"

About: Birmingham Women's Hospital

Simply unacceptable waiting over four hours in Triage to be seen by a doctor, the reception area have the most uncomfortable seating available for any pregnany lady. When asked how much longer it might be, the reception team were unable to give a time and just said, 'it could be a while', even after my four hour wait. At close to midnight, I had to discharge myself, and leave without seeing a doctor as the wait was endless. I appreciate it is a busy hospital but to only have one doctor on duty to serve the delivery suite and triage together is unacceptable.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Birmingham Women's Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to comment and we are sorry to hear that you had to wait so long in Triage. Your comments will be passed on to Senior Managers in Maternity so that the issues you have raised can be looked into. We are very grateful for feedback as it can help us to make improvements and we hope that you have a better experience on your next visit. If you would like to speak to someone further about your experience, please contact our PALS Team on 0121 627 2747 or pop into their office in main reception for a chat. Kind Regards, Birmingham Women's Hospital

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful