"Saving money."

About: Kettering General Hospital

Sir/Madam. On Saturday 2nd August 2014, my wife was advised by telephone she should attend Spencer Ward at KGH for an operation on the 5th of August. On the 2nd August, a dated letter was generated to confirm the appointment. That letter was postmarked the 6th of August. and arrived on the 8th of August. 3 days after the operation was completed and she returned home. With the much heralded shortage of funds within the NHS this would seem to be both silly and a waste of your funds. If this situation is repeated for all your patients attending for surgery, the waste will be enormous. may I respectfully suggest this needs to be addressed.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Kettering General Hospital

Many thanks for your valuable feedback. When an operation date is booked for our patients the patient administration system automatically generates a letter, however it is possible for us to cancel this which is what should have happened in your case. The staff within the Access Team have been reminded of this to ensure that we do not send out unnecessary mail. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to my attention Sarah Hudson Deputy Service Manager

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful