"Currently In Hospital"

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

My partner is currently an in-patient. What I have seen over the last couple of days compounds the notion that NHS is broken. There is a vast array of talented people in the hospital, who are being held back, pushed down and demoralised, by a system which is laughable, at best. having to hear from staff that they are sorry because medicine which has been prescribed can not be given as they do not have it, on more than one occasion. There is zero access to information, just lots of people who have to check and or do not know. I had to take my partners notes and review what was on them using the internet. I have asked to speak to the doctor and consultant on numerous occasions, but they never arrive, clearly being driven into the ground trying to cope, or at the private hospitals. I went to the shop to get some supplies only to return to an empty bay, when i asked the SN where my partner had gone she did not know, i had to remind her who I was talking about, "The person who has been in that bay for the last 24 hours". no one even mentioned anything about moving. The process of diagnosis is slow and painful access to equipment and tests is limited at best. I have been trying to arrange a transfer somewhere else, We have insurance but I do not even mind paying. This is not a complaint about a specific area or process, but rather a observation of a service which it seems is no longer fit for purpose. medical staff are working more hours than lorry drivers are legal allowed to work and, well who would you prefer to be better rested and fresher i have not specified the department as my partner is still there and I do not want to compromise their position.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dear reviewer, Thank you for sharing your comments with us, we appreciate all constructive feedback as this allows us to constantly review our services. We can't deny that it is a challenging time for the NHS, however, we are committed to change. On 19 May, Ian Sturgess joined us for six months to help to transform the performance of our urgent care system across the whole health ecomony in Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland (LLR). Ian is a senior Consultant Geriatrician by background with extensive experience in the improvement of urgent care systems across the UK and is here to help our frontline staff feel empowered to use their initiative and get their ideas not only heard, but put into practice, to improve the way we do things. We appreciate this information does not help or change the current situation your partner is facing as an in patient and would encourage you to talk to the consultant in charge of your partner's care or the matron on the ward. This will not impact or change the way they care for your partner and they will appreciate the chance to make changes which will affect you and your partner here and now. If you would feel more comfortable speaking to someone outside of the ward, you can contact out Patient Information and Liaison Service (PILS) for advice on 0300 303 1573 or via our website http://www.leicestershospitals.nhs.uk/patients/patient-welfare/patient-information-and-liaison-service/ We hope to make many positive changes over the coming months to improve care for every one of our patients and wholeheartedly apologise that your partner has not received 'Caring at its Best' this time, Kind regards Communications Team Leicester's Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful