"Waited 6 hours and left at 2.15 am with no..."

About: St Richard's Hospital

We arrived at 8-30pm, had an appointment with the triage nurse and then waited for 3 and a half hours until I inquired how long it might be before we saw a doctor. I was informed it would be 45 mins to an hour before I was seen by the A and E doctor, inquired again at 1-15 am to be told the same time frame. Left the A and E department at 2-15 am without seeing the doctor after coming to the conclusion any time frame was without meaning and therefore my place on the doctor's list was irrelevant. Might have been seen in the next 2-4 hours depending on how overstretched the doctor got in other areas of the hospital. 6 hours, with no prospect of being seen in the next 2 is a totally unacceptable length of time to wait. Despite your staff being kind and courteous, your one doctor was completely overburdened with the entire A and E department to contend himself with. The doctor was only able to treat one A and E patient about every 45 mins which left 20 patients and relatives(some elderly) waiting and complaining. I don't know of any other service-user situation in which you pay for a service and do not receive it after nearly 6 hours. I will not use your A and E department again and tomorrow will travel further to use a more efficient hospital.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Richard's Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. We are very sorry that you experienced such a delay in our A/E department. We strive to ensure that our patients are seen within prompt timescales and achieve this aim the majority of the time. There are occasions however when the hospital and department experiences extreme pressures and we fail to deliver the service within the expected waiting times. We are pleased that our staff were kind and courteous but we are sorry that we were not able to communicate to you clear information about the wait. Please accept our sincere apologies.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful