About: The Royal Victoria Infirmary

I was in the maternity assessment ward when went to give birth to my daughter. I was left in a corridor with full view of other visitors for an hour at 7cm dilated with very painful contractions every minute for an hour while waiting to be moved to delivery suite. Absolutely disgusting and while asking staff how long they ignored me, spoke about me behind my back to other staff members thinking I could not here then after an hour I was moved onto the ward as I complained to the sister of a ward that just happened to be walking past. Disgusting treatment and would never give birth here again!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Royal Victoria Infirmary

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on NHS Choices. We are very saddened to learn that you were unhappy with the maternity care provided to you. This has clearly been a difficult time for you and adversely affected your birth experience, for which we wish to apologise unreservedly. Unfortunately, due to the lack of specific detail regarding the date and time of your attendance at the Maternity Assessment Unit we are unable to provide a detailed explanation for the delay in your transfer. It is usual practice that Women who are in labour are given priority over other women who may be attending for routine care within the assessment unit. This enables us to normally make a timely transfer to delivery suite, and we can only apologise if this was not your experience. It is possible that you overheard staff mentioning your name, as they were highlighting, to other staff, the need to attend to you and ensure your needs were met and we must apologise if you were not provided appropriate explanations for any delay at the time. This should have been clearly communicated to you. We wish to apologise again for any distress this has caused and if you would like to discuss this further or provide additional information you can contact the Patient Relations team on patient.relations@nuth.nhs.uk or Elaine Blair, Head of Midwifery (0191 2825666) who will be happy to follow up your concerns, as we would very much like to review the circumstances which led to this delay, and ensure that any necessary improvements are brought about.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful