"Discharge Procedure"

About: Queen's Medical Centre

My elderly father has incurable cancer. He also has problems with speech and swallowing. He was due to be discharged on Mon 14 July, on the 'Fast Track' procedure. He was informed that the discharge would be as early in the day as possible. However, I was given varying explanations why the discharge was delayed, eventually being told that an Ambulance would be available at 9 PM. This was clearly unsuitable for an elderly patient. Eventually he arrived home at 2 PM the following day. Although I have no complaint whatsoever at the treatment he received during his stay in hospital, I was extremely disturbed by the delays in allowing him to return home. Although it is too late to act in my own situation, I would like some kind of assurance that this will not occur in other, similar cases.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you were satisfied with the treatment your father received while in hospital, but we are sorry to hear that you were unhappy about his discharge being delayed. We will be looking into anything which may have caused such a delay, to avoid similar delays in future, and will liaise with our colleagues in the East Midlands Ambulance Service on this matter.