"Nothing but praise!"

I was recently admitted to Springfield for Inguinal Hernia repair, I cannot fault the level of care I received, from my porter to the surgical team. I would particularly like to thank my nurse for making me feel at ease throughout the entire process, every nurse should aspire to treat patients with the compassionate care that you do. I was told an approximate time for surgery upon arrival to my room, however, this passed and I was still waiting a couple of hours later. I would like to be one of the few who do not complain about this, it is inevitable that complications arise during surgery, it is disappointing to see so many people knock delays which are as a result of another person receiving the best treatment available to them. My time in the recovery room was made much less intimidating by the nurses, my consultant took the time to explain the results of my surgery both to myself and my relatives back in my room in case I was unable to remember what we had discussed and it is these small things that make the NHS such a fantastic (yet undervalued) service. My aftercare was faultless, I was well looked after by my nurse throughout the evening, and knowing I was not keen to stay overnight, the nursing team worked to discharge me whenever I was ready. Despite this being at midnight, I was given all of the information I needed regarding postoperative care, I have nothing but positive things to say about my experience.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Springfield Hospital

Thank you for your feedback. All of our staff work hard to ensure surgery times are met, but as you have acknowledged complications occasionally arise which are beyond our control. We are happy to hear that our staff delivered such high quality care and that you had a positive stay.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful