About: Sunderland Royal Hospital

I usually have a urological procedure carried out each year as a day case at the hospital and the organisation by the various departments that book the procedures and pre ops is laughable. It's just over a week to the date I've been told I'm booked in for and I still have no pre ops date. I've called and just keep being told `there's plenty of time` and the staff just brush you off. When you call you get passed around, if somebody tells you they`'re going to do something or call you back they don't. They treat you like a nuisance but if they gave you decent notice of dates and sorted the process out you wouldn't need to call. My manager needs to arrange somebody to cover my job and now has no time to get this organised. I seriously doubt that I will be done on 9th July as I find it very hard to believe that pre ops haven't been booked yet. The last three times have been dreadfull. One mistake after another adding unnecessary stress on top of stress and a medical condition that worsens with stress. I have no issues with the clinical staff they're excellent but the clerical staff treat you with contempt and just blame everything on the new computer system. It's just not good enough. I've lost all faith in the service. Nobody takes ownership of anything and it's pretty clear they're just not interested. If I could do without the procedure I gladly would as going through this makes me I'll and it saddens me to have to complain, again.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sunderland Royal Hospital

We are extremely sorry that you have encountered such difficulties when trying to confirm arrangements for your procedure. This is certainly not the level of service we would expect and we have forwarded your comments on to the manager for the Urology service. These will be shared with the staff involved who will reflect and learn from them. However, in view of the timescales involved we are keen to try and resolve this issue for you. Could you please contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Team on the contact details below. They will then liaise with the Urology staff on your behalf to confirm the arrangements for any pre-operative assessments which are required, as well as the exact details for your procedure. pals@chs.northy.nhs.uk or freephone 0800 587 6513

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful