"Complete lack of care and disregard "

About: Heartlands Hospital / Accident and emergency

(as a relative),

My mum was sent to the Hospital on Monday afternoon after it was clear she had a severe kidney infection. She arrived in Ward 20 something where all patients are sent when they are referred by their GP.

She was administered with a drip around 5pm that evening. However they were unable to provide her with a ward until 5am Tuesday - how is it acceptable for this, they expected my mum to remain upright on a chair with a drip the entire night. My mum doesn't like to make a fuss - yet in anyone else' mind that's just unacceptable and completely irresponsible!

This ward was so heavily staffed that their were more staff then patients, one worker was on a 14 hour shift from an agency and actually boasted they had nothing to do as they watched the entire football match in the waiting room with other suffering patients. Oh but they offered the waiting patients tea - how noble of them.

My mum has since been on Ward 2 in this hospital, where the staff we have come into contact with were rude, visiting hours are only applicable to certain visitors by the looks of it, especially since the woman to the right of my mum has visitors all day long and nobody challenges why they don't visit during visitation hours and yet if the more then 2 visitors per bed policy appears to be abused with others the staff are quick to question and demand the exit of our rather large families who tend to visit their ill in large numbers probably because we give a crap! But hey what do we know? !

The harsh reality of the service this hospital offers to any patient of ethnic background seems in my opinion to be an endless disappointment. It seems to not understand or be capable of delivering a caring, empathetic service to its patients who really do not want to be there!

Remind me why the NHS which we the tax payer invest millions of pounds every year, and I'm pretty sure this hospital gets some contribution but seems to be unable to provide what comes naturally and free - common courtesy, manners and service from the heart? We wouldn't stand for it in a restaurant when we pay for our meal based on the service from the waiter, so why is it when 90% of the patients in hospitals who are all tax payers and pay the wages of the employees of the hospital I mention I came into contact with, why are they not more respectful of that fact and sympathetic or empathetic to their patients.

Is it really too much to ask? !

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Jyoti Baharani, Consultant Physician and Nephrologist, Renal, Heartlands Hospital

picture of Jyoti Baharani

Dear Helena

I am so sorry to have read about your Mothers' experience under our care.

Please can you contact the Renal Secretaries on 01214242157 so a member of the team can discuss the issues you have raised further.

Many thanks

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Heartlands Hospital

Dear Sir or Madam, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your mother's recent inpatient stay at Heartlands Hospital. All feedback is used by the Patient Experience Team to identify themes and trends across the organisation to highlight areas of improvement. Your comments have been forwarded to the Patient Experience Team. However, should you wish to discuss your concerns further, please do not hesitate to contact the Patient Services Team on 0121 424 0808 or via email patientservices@heartofengland.nhs.uk Yours faithfully Patient Services Team

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful