"Access to Eye clinic"

About: Royal Surrey County Hospital

For more than 30 years I have had recurrent iritis, a very painful condition that potentially damages sight. The pain is unmistakable and I currently have a flare up. Three days ago, at my request, my GP reluctantly prescribed the steroids drops that the eye clinc usually prescibe to reduce the inflammation, saying that it was not appropriate for them to do so without a proper diagnosis that can be made by an opthalmologist (I also know that this is the case from previous episdes) They made an urgent referral to opthalmology as it is essential firstly to confirm that it is iritis and secondly to determine the extent of the inflammation and the frequency of steroid use. I am currently self-medicating, clearly not satisfactory Having heard nothing to date (3 days after visiting my GP), I phoned NHS Choices and was offered an appt in 3 weeks' time. Given the condition and the urgency with which previous episodes were treated, this seems unsatisfactory, maybe even negligent.. Previously I was able to phone the Eye Clinic whenever I had an episode and was seen on the same day. Each time, the urgency was justfied, that is, iritis was diagnosed, with frequent follow-up appts to monitor treatment. For three days I have been trying to ring the Eye clinic to enquire about my appt. The phone is not answered. I know that it is a very busy dept but surely it should be possible to speak to someone? It seems my only option now is to go to A&E -such a waste of resources. I will also submit a report to Healthwatch. This is not a criticism of the staff in the dept (I haven't yet seen anyone!) but of a 'structural' problem.that needs urgent resolution

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Surrey County Hospital

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. Please can you email us at rsc-tr.communications@nhs.net so that we can get more information from you to conduct a thorough investigation. As an organisation we actively encourage an environment of continuous improvement. We value all feedback so that we can ensure that where there are opportunities to improve we act upon these. We look forward to hearing from you. Best wishes, Royal Surrey County Hospital

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful