"The current appalling treatment of my grandmother"

About: Royal Stoke University Hospital / General medicine

(as a relative),

My grandmother was admitted via A&E with hypoglycaemia. She fell in hospital walking to the toilet unattended, when her buzzer wasn't answered. She subsequently sustained a head injury and a fractured hip.

Observing her treatment as a qualified nurse I am disgusted. In my opinion animals are treated better. She cries out in pain and is denied the use of the buzzer when it is placed out of reach.

She wouldn't still be an inpatient if staff had helped her to the toilet, a basic human requirement.

Here we are 6 weeks with now a deteriorating patient who was admitted for a very minor ailment, stuck in bed requiring more care and getting complications of bed rest.

Complaining to staff feels pointless. They seem to lack the basic skills to care for her and there are not enough staff for the patient care required. We've tried PALS, still no answers.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from University Hospitals of North Midlands

Dear Littlered

I would like to apologise for the experience that you have described.

All our nursing staff are aware that it is our duty to provide basic nursing care to all our patients.

Call buzzers for all patients and particularly those who are vulnerable should always be provided and I would like to offer my sincere apologies that this was not the case in this instance.

I will ensure that feedback is given to all staff on the importance of this vital communication tool.

Alison Hopwood

Deputy Matron

Accident and Emergency Department

Update posted by Littlered (a relative)

Hi Alison,

Thanks for your response, and your apology.

My grandmother is still in hospital now 3 months later and has deteriorated significantly due to extended bed rest as a result of her injury sustained as an inpatient. I have yet to see any improvement in her care.