"A and E Department"

About: Doncaster Royal Infirmary

I visited the a and e department on friday 6 june @ 23.00hrs. I was in extreme pain with my chest side and back i was in tears. The receptionist asked my name date of birth and address, the address was wrong so she was more bothered about changing that rather than getting me to see someone. I was then told to take a seat along with the other 20 casualties...i was in agony but people with minor injuries were seen before me..i think the way i was treated was disgusting..my partner went and told the receptionist that i was progressively worse and all she could say was theres one before her then its her turn..the one before me had an injury to his thumb...surely to god chest pain comes before that..when i finally got in to see someone 2 and half hours later the doctor could not even find the right plug on the bp machine to get it working...he had to bring a nurse..he then brought me painkillers..half an hour later a nurse brought me the same tablets..i told her i had only taken some half hour ago she replied are u sure..i said of course im sure..the doctor had not documented that i had,had medication ..talk about your life in their hands..still in pain i was sent home with a course of antibiotics for a water infection and told to go and see my own gp who will more than likely refer me for an ultrasound scan..why couldnt do a scan while i was in there is beyond me..all in all crap service..if i ever have to attend again i will be phoning 999..

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Doncaster Royal Infirmary

Dear Michaela, Thank you for your recent feedback about our Trust and we are very sorry that your experience was not what you expected. However, we have investigated your concerns and would like to offer the following response, which we hope answers the concerns you have raised. regarding the receptionist appeating to be more concerned about changing the your address than getting you seen, we appreciate the you were in discomfort when you attended, however it is extremely important that we have an accurate address for all patients for any further correspondence, I apologise if this was not explained at the time. You refer to other patients being seen before you. Unfortunately the department had been extremely busy on the day of your attendance, therefore a lot of the patients had been waiting in excess of two hours and therefore the nurses in the department were trying to triage children and anyone with chest pains as these were potentially the most serious patients we had in the department at the time. You highlight that you waited two and a half hours to be seen by a doctor and our system and records show that your wait was just under 2 hours. As we have already said, the department was extremely busy on the day, but we apologise for this inconvenience Regarding the doctor failing to document that he had administered any medication to you, I am sorry this occurred and would like to assure you that I have asked the doctor's mentor to discuss this matter with him to prevent any reoccurrence. I need to clarify that an ultrasound scan is not routinely performed from the Emergency Department. It is usually requested as an out -patient investigation by the GP, unless the patient is admitted into the hospital under a speciality, in which case the speciality will request it. Overall our investigation into your attendance at the Emergency Department has show that you were seen and discharged within four hours, which in all honesty is the Emergency Department target. We can also see that you received a ull examination carried out by the attending doctor and all investigations and observations were within normal limits. We hope that you are receoverng well and am sorry that you are dissatisfied with your treatment, but would like to assure you that the attending doctor's management plan was correct. Yours Sincerely Nasreen Ahmed Sister/Clinical Governance and Risk Team

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful