"Receptionist and triage nurse too busy to..."

About: Hillingdon Hospital

I went to A&E yesterday morning (07-06-14) at 7:45 with my 12 year old sister after having hurt her shoulder. Arriving there, the receptionist took her details and asked us to take a seat and wait in the adult seating area which I found weird as she is only 12. Shortly after the triage nurse called her to assess her. Having waited for 1.5 hours and heard nothing I got up my seat to go and speak to the triage nurse, when I was infront of her she didn't even acknowledge me as she was too busy chatting with the receptionist who was sat next to her (I could tell that the conversation wasn't about work). She then looked at me after few minutes to ask 'what was the problem'. After telling her what the 'problem' was she looked at her screen and said that she has put her into the wrong streaming!, and that her colleague will call us shortly, 25mins after that we were finally called. Working in an A&E department myself, I found this attitude disgusting and not professional at all. Even though the nurse and the doctor was lovely I wouldn't recommend HILLINGDON HOSPITAL just because of the way that I've treated by the front desk staff. I don't think that I was being treated with dignity or respect! I await for your reply!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Hillingdon Hospital

We are very sorry that you have had cause to complain about the service you received. We have checked our records on the day in question and it is apparent that we did not within the A & E service see and treat a 12 year old in the morning of the 7th June 2014. It may be helpful to explain that there is another service also located in the Accident and Emergency Department called an Urgent Care Centre provided by Greenbrook services. We will forward your comments to the manager of this service .

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful