"Still suffering after surgery 7 months ago"

About: Southern General Hospital / General Surgery

(as the patient),

I had an operation in Nov 2013. The scar was 13cm long on my stomach. It looked good, all went well and got out the next day.

7 days later, I changed my dressing on my stomach. As I did that, my scar opened up. My wife rushed me to A&E at the Southern General in Glasgow, hoping to be in overnight and the next day get it sewed up. However, I was told that they were not going to do anything to it, so the scar was 13cm long and 5cm wide on my stomach. I was told it would heal from inside out and it would take no longer than 3 months long to heal. However, now 7 month later it is now 7cm long and still 5cm wide.

I got to a point I do not want to be here, as I see no end in sight to my scar healing. I am losing so much blood through the scar bleeding. I am in a lot of pain due to it and I have wasted a lot of t-shirts and jumpers due to it bleeding so much. I wish I did not have the surgery done, as I am in a worse state now than I was before it.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Craig White, Divisional Clinical Lead, Directorate of Health Quality and Strategy, Scottish Government

picture of Craig White

Dear spambo,

I was so sorry to read about how you have been feeling following the problems with healing of your wound - and very concerned to read about you feeling that you don't want to be here, blood loss and pain. No wonder that you have been feeling like you wish the operation had not occurred.

I noticed that colleagues at NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde have not posted a response, so as time has gone on I wanted to make sure that you were aware of my personal concerns for your wellbeing - and, if you are not already in contact with someone, to encourage you to make contact with a doctor or nurse about your feelings and also physical symptoms. It seems vital that you get access to the right form of support you with these upsetting issues.

I will flag this posting with colleagues in Glasgow as I am sure that they will want to encourage you to make personal contact so that they can make a personal connection with you, ensuring that you are in touch with the expert help and support available.

With best wishes

Craig White

Divisional Clinical Lead, The Quality Unit

Scottish Government Health and Social Care Directorates

  • spambo thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think so too

Response from Paul Cannon, Head of Administration, Acute Services Division, Greater Glasgow & Clyde NHS

Dear Spambo,

I wanted at the outset to apologise for the delay in responding to your original posting. We did send this out to the service manager at the time, but we did not receive anything in return because insufficient detail was in your posting, however we should have followed this up at the time and for that I am sincerely sorry.

I am grateful to Craig for drawing this to our attention so that we can put this right.

Without any personal details it is very difficult to check any details for you, but I would suggest that, even at this stage, if you have not had an opportunity to see a Hospital Doctor, that you consult your own GP to get the help you need particularly for your physical health. If you feel able to share your personal details with my off line, by emailing my personal email address below, I will be able to do this and expedite any referral your GP might make.

I look forward to hearing from you and once again my personal apologies for not responding to your posting when it first came in.

Paul

my email address is paul.cannon@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

  • spambo thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think so too

Updates, changes and questions related to this story