"I still do not feel they want to help"

About: Claire House / Ashton & Golborne CMHT (Adults)

(as the patient),

A while ago, I posted my experience of phoning the emergency contact number for the Wigan Assessment Team at Claire House when I was suicidal and extremely distressed. I still do not believe the issue has been resolved as I still do not feel that I would feel able to contact them if it gets really bad again.

After posting my experience, I contacted PALS. The PALS officer was very helpful and arranged for me to meet with the Team Manager with the intention of rebuilding trust so I would feel able to contact them in crisis and be able to engage in therapy.

However, the Assessment Team have not done anything to do this. I think they are trying to sweep it under the carpet. I still would not be able to contact them in an emergency or tell them face to face if I am having suicidal thoughts. I feel that they have failed in their duty of care. They have not given me any support for this problem.

In April, some people from Clare House came to my mum's house where I live. I had not been informed that they would be coming and was not in. My mum was upset and confused by their visit. They have not apologised or explained why they came without arranging it or informing me they were coming.

All of this has had a detrimental effect on my care. I have missed out on what the Consultant Psychiatrist and Consultant Clinical Psychologist decided at the case conference they held in early April. I have not been told what happened at the case conference. I feel that they are punishing me for their failures.

I was told last year that I was being referred to Imagine Independence for long term support, but they are not going through with this without informing me or discussing it with me.

Last December I saw the Complaints Manager and the Deputy Op Business Manager concerning the way that the 5BP services have been treating me dismissively. They told me they would not tolerate dismissive behaviour, but they have not done anything.

I was told by someone at Claire House that I need to talk about being abused when I was a child but they have never provided a safe and caring environment in which to do this. I feel that they have been insensitive and dismissive about it.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Katherine Earlam, PALS Officer, 5 Boroughs Partnership NHS Trust

I am sorry to hear that you have been so unhappy with our services thus far.

I would like to look in more detail, at the issues you have described so that we can give you an explanation as to why an unannounced visit was made to your home, the results of any discussions that may have taken place at what you describe as a case conference, and I would hope that this may help to improve your confidence in seeking our support and improve things in the future.

If you would like us to go ahead with a review of your concerns please call me (via my secretary) on the number provided below and we can either meet or discuss your experiences over the telephone in order that I can ensure the best course of action is taken now and in the future,


Cheryl Forrest,


Adult Mental Health Services,



01942 264539

Work Mob - 07798618228

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful