"Disgusting attitude"

About: Hillingdon Hospital

My brother in law went to hh a and e today as he thought he had an extremely bad infection in his eye. When he was finally seen by someone, who was very rude. Turns out he had something stuck in the coloured part of his eye and the person tried to take it out. When my brother in law moved his head back they tutted at him and said 'well how do you think I'm supposed to get this out if you keep moving your head for god sake' my brother in law then said you're coming at my eye with a hook, it's instinct I can't help it, to which the person then responded well then no one is going to help you if you keep acting like that and how did you even manage to get something stuck in your eye that far? My brother in law said he didn't know and they then proceeded to put the equipment away without trying again and said to my brother in law leave you're number someone will ring you and tell you to come back when there's a doctor here because you cant sit still. They didn't even get off the phone to take his number down just shoved a pen and paper at him and then when he was finished turned around to him and said you might as well go home then, there's no one here that can help you. He has since been called and told he has to go back at two o'clock. I have had nothing but problems with this hospital over the last few years. My mum has been in and out as she has cancer and MS and the last time she was admitted to a ward they had someone else's notes at the end of her bed for two days and the only reason this was rectified was because I noticed. The person whose notes were at the end of my mums bed had just finished a course of penicillin which if they had given to my mum could have killed her as she is allergic to it. There is literally so much more I could say about this place and the treatment many people I know have received. This hospital needs a serious revamp. Avoid this hospital if you can.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Hillingdon Hospital

We are very sorry that you have had cause to complain about the service you received. We have checked our records for the period in question 01/06/2014-05/06/2014 and have not been able to verify whether you were seen by Hillingdon Hospital Accident Department or by the Urgent Care Centre provided by Greenbrook services. If you wish to discuss this matter or clarify the date and initials of the individual we would be very happy to further investigate your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful