"Not being treated by The Royal Gwent"

About: Royal Gwent Hospital / Accident & Emergency

(as the patient),

OK, so I'm generally not fussy and I'm not one to usually complain either.

Sunday I was admitted for my gall bladder. I know its my gallbladder, however they have their suspicions but cannot confirm it is without a scan. On Sunday night I was admitted, given far too much tramadol which did take the pain away but I was left feeling out of it, and then decided to wake me up at 1 am to send me home because I was not in a desperate state and my pain was under control. As understandable as that is, I couldn't believe it. 1 am! They discharged me with buscopan, ibroprofen, paracetamol and anti sickness meds.

On Thursday, the pain relief wasn't working at all, the pain had radiated to my chest and I was in agony. I left this episode of pain to go on for 12 hours, until I decided to to return, bearing in mind I'd had 4 more episodes since leaving the hospital Sunday and returning Thursday.

I waited in a+e for two and a half hours. I can confirm that admission is based on how much pain you are in. I guess I can hide my pain well as I was told if I had asked for pain relief I'd have been seen there and then.

I finally got seen, same procedure as Sunday, I was sent to another section of the hospital for more check ups where I would wait for 4 and a half more hours!

Finally, I'm admitted to the SAU unit. I was still in pain, and I had to sleep uncomfortably on a chair as there are no beds. I was not given any pain relief for a few hours either, just a drip. They told me they would do a scan, they would get me a bed, they would keep me in until all pain is managed.

I finally got a bed! If you can call a trolley a bed? Either way I'm not fussy like I said. I just wanted pain relief. I'd barely slept, and was waiting patiently for a scan.

Finally! Scan time! Uh, not. The doctor came over and told me I was being made an outpatient, I'm not In a life or death situation so I was going home with the pain relief which didn't work. I was gutted, I cried. The doctor was rude, very very blunt and not considerate at all.

I was made to feel like an object, like my importance was nothing, my pain was nothing and that I was fit and well. That's not the case at all!

I've got tramadol, ibroprofen, paracetamol and cyclizine with me at home, they don't work for me. I'm currently sat in bed writing this feeling like I'm having a mini heart attack due to my gallbladder problems. They wouldn't listen to me.

I have to wait like this for 2 weeks now. I can't go back if I wanted to. I feel silly after breaking down in frustration with them, given my family history I never thought they would discharge me without having the scan at least, which is all I wanted.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Julian Hayman, Internal Communications Manager, Communications, Aneurin Bevan Health Board

Hello Ehlle,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback via Patient Opinion. I am sorry to hear that you have not been happy with your experience at the Royal Gwent Hospital.

If at any time you feel dissatisfied with the treatment or care you have received you have a right to raise a concern. You can choose to raise any concerns in writing, by email, by completing our Raising a Concern Form or by telephoning us, both during and after your treatment.

You can write to the Chief Executive. The contact details are:

Dr Andrew Goodall

Chief Executive

Aneurin Bevan Health Board

St Cadocs Hospital

Lodge Road




Or you can email your concern directly to the Putting Things Right Team at Puttingthingsright.ABHB@wales.nhs.uk

Please include the following information in your email:

your full name


telephone number

the name and address of the patient (if you are emailing on behalf of someone else)


Sharon Harford

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful