"Staff conversations"

About: Charing Cross Hospital

while waiting for my appt (20 mins approx) three members of staff came up to the receptionist in waiting area 1) how tired she was and couldn't wait for Friday to be over 2) A patient was having to be referred from a ward and fitted in with an MRI scan within the next few hours. The two members of staff complained audibly at how this was so difficult to arrangewith seemingly no regard for the patient's needs. 3) two members of staff stood at the reception desk discussing how lovely it was that it was going to be a bank hol w/e and they wouldn't have to be at work on Mon. 4) The receptionist opened a door to announce to the clinician " your next one's here" whereas it would have made me feel welcomed if I could have been addressed either by name or as the next patient. Patient care and understanding can make a big difference. Each patient is attending with a concern and should be treated with respect from the moment of their arrival. I understand that staff need to air their feelings/frustrations, but surely not in front of patients who are anxiously waiting for attention, care and understanding of their needs. I used to work at Fulham hospital in the 70's as it was becoming CXH and continued to work in the health service until 2010.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Charing Cross Hospital

Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust is very concerned to read of your experience and we sincerely apologise that you were not treated with care and respect. Your comments have been escalated to the Service Manager for Out Patients but we require more details to be able to identify exactly where you were and so to address the important concerns that you have raised. We hope that you will contact our PALS service to facilitate this pals@imperial.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful