"I was made to feel very unimportant, and was shown no care or compassion."

About: Medway Maritime Hospital / Accident and emergency

(as the patient),

I fainted at work and an ambulance was called, because I had hit my head. I was taken to hospital on the advice of the Ambulance Technician where I was assessed by a CSW who took my blood pressure, checked my blood glucose levels, did an ECG and tried (unsuccessfully) to take my blood.

Following this I was left in the waiting area for 3 hours with a head injury. I was not given any information, nor did anyone explain what was happening to me. I was ignored, despite being sick whilst in the waiting area. When I was eventually seen by a doctor I was told that I had been missed on the system and that is why my wait was so long. I was made to feel very unimportant, and was shown no care or compassion whilst in hospital. The CSW I saw did not explain her reasons for doing any of the tests that she performed on me, which were all without consent.

I was left feeling very unsatisfied with the care I received and will avoid going to A&E in the future due to the poor care I received. Despite this when I eventually saw a doctor she performed a thorough examination of my neurological symptoms and then gave me some advice and sent me home.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Medway NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for the feedback regarding your poor experience in our A and E department.

Please accept my apologies that we did not meet your expectations.

It is not our intention to keep patients waiting longer than is necessary and we should have kept you informed but I understand that the doctor said you had been overlooked on the system and this had made you feel unimportant and not cared for. This is not acceptable and for this I apologise.

Following a thorough examination and advice from the doctor you then left the hospital feeling unsatisfied with the care you had received. We need to improve on this experience and learn from your feedback so thank you for bringing this to our attention

We are making improvements to our A and E department and your feedback is essential

If you would like to discuss the matter further then please do not hesitate to contact me.

John Fletcher Senior Matron - Emergency Department on 01634 830000 ex 3847

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful