"Physio left before my appointment"

About: Crosshouse Hospital / Physiotherapy

(as the patient),

Physio appointment for 5 pm today. Arrived at 4. 55pm and took a seat as directed on the notice. 5. 03 pm heard someones shout night [staff name]. Looked up as that was the name of the physio I was waiting to see. She had her jacket and bag and was walking out the main door.

The physio dept door is about 2/3 metres from the main door. I was further away in the seating area. Physio was gone before I really got a grip of what was happening. I stood and turned to the main receptionist at my back and said that was the woman I am waiting to see. To her credit the receptionist ran after my physio. But apparently her husband was waiting outside in a car and they were gone before receptionist could catch her. I showed the receptionist my appointment card it definitely said that date at 5 pm. The physio dept was closed there was no one there and there was nothing the receptionist could do. Receptionist took my details and did offer to email the physio in the morning and let her know.

I arranged time off work, travelled a 40 mile round trip and am very disappointed in the outcome. How could this happen?

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Eunice Goodwin, Patient Feedback Manager for NHS Ayrshire and Arran, Quality Improvement and Governance Team, NHS Ayrshire and Arran

picture of Eunice Goodwin

Dear disappointed too,

Yes, I can appreciate why you are disappointed and possibly a bit angry too, I know I would have been. I don't know how this can happen, but we can find out.

Meantime, do you have another appointment? If you want to email me on my personal email address your name, date of birth and any other relevant details perhaps we can help you to get one as soon as possible. Your details will also help us to establish what went wrong.

I am sorry you had to experience this and hopefully it will not happen again.

Kind regards,

Eunice (eunice.goodwin@aapct.scot.nhs.uk)

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by disappointed too (the patient)

Hi Eunice

Thank you for your response.

My physio, called first thing the next morning (Friday) full of apologies and made a new appointment which I have already attended (Monday).

I was determined not to let the missed appointment impact on the benefit I could get from the re arranged appointment. My physio obviously felt the same and could not have been more attentive.

On my first appointment with her I had commented on her lovely manner and nothing had changed in the re arranged appointment.

I realise these things happen and every step was taken quickly once the problem had been identified.

I am receiving treatment from Crosshouse that I cannot fault and don't want this to detract from the otherwise great staff from receptionists to consultant. Everyone has been very attentive, friendly and made me feel I am their priority during any contact.

Response from Eunice Goodwin, Patient Feedback Manager for NHS Ayrshire and Arran, Quality Improvement and Governance Team, NHS Ayrshire and Arran

picture of Eunice Goodwin

Dear disappointed too,

Thank you very much for such a balanced and helpful response. This will be a very helpful post and I am sure the staff will appreciate greatly.

I hope your health issues are resolving now,

Kind regards

Eunice

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Eunice Goodwin, Patient Feedback Manager for NHS Ayrshire and Arran, Quality Improvement and Governance Team, NHS Ayrshire and Arran

picture of Eunice Goodwin

Dear disappointed too,

Thank you for the comments on your experience of the physiotherapy service in Crosshouse Hospital.

As Service Lead I was very surprised by your initial comments as I know the physiotherapy team you were attending are very caring and professional.

I investigated your experience and when I spoke to the physiotherapist involved, she was very upset about what happened to you. I know the Team Lead and the physiotherapist were very anxious to contact you the next day to apologise and organise an appointment for you.

I am very pleased that you feel the service you are receiving is a great and that the staff have been friendly and attentive. I would like to assure you that the team have discussed the mistake and steps taken to ensure it will not happen again.

I would like to apologise again for the mistake made and hope your experience continues to be a positive one.

Elizabeth Quinn

Physiotherapy Service Lead

Crosshouse Hospital

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story