"nurses and ward sister were excellent, ..."

About: Macclesfield District General Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

nurses and ward sister were excellent, pity the consultant was not as pleasant.the hospital leaves a lot to be desire in cleanliness the toilets were in fact dirty, and i had to call the young man who was supposed to be cleaning back, then go and struggle to clean the place myself.

What could be improved

Proper cleaners who know how to clean.

Anything else?

my operation was a knee replacement and it was a failure but this time going for a revision to wrightington

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Macclesfield District General Hospital

Thank you for writing in with your feedback. We are really sorry to hear that you did not feel that the consultant you saw was very pleasant. However we are very pleased to read your kind comments about our nursing staff. We have passed on your feedback to the Orthopaedics Manager.

The Trust takes cleanliness extremely seriously, therefore we are disappointed to see that the cleanliness on the ward did not meet your expectations. We would like to reassure you that the following initiatives have been put in place over the last year to improve cleanliness:

• Every month one ward is thoroughly ‘deep cleaned’. This programme has been acknowledged and praised by the Department of Health as an example of good practice.

• Handwash basins have been installed at ward entrances with signs encouraging anyone entering the ward to wash their hands.

• Monthly handwashing audits are undertaken by the Infection Control Team.

• Monthly audits are carried out in all inpatient areas in the form of a patient satisfaction questionnaire. The results are fed back to the Trust Board. In every audit since the programme started in 2007, over 80% of patients have rated toilet cleanliness as Excellent or Good. In December overall ward cleanliness was rate Excellent or Good by 93% of patients, and this rating has never dipped below 89% Excellent or Good.

The Trust is currently reviewing cleaning arrangements at our hospitals, with the aim of making changes to improve the domestic service. The review group includes our Matrons and the Infection Prevention and Control team.

We are grateful that you brought this to our attention, and your comments have been passed on to the manager responsible for hospital cleanliness. The Trust relies on valuable feedback from patients and visitors to the hospital which is welcomed.

If you would like to discuss these matters further please contact the East Cheshire NHS Trust Customer Care Team on 01625 661449, freephone 0800 1613997 or minicom 01625 663723.

We would like to wish you the best of luck for your knee replacement revision.