"Minor complaint"

About: Northampton General Hospital (Acute)

Having been taken to A&E by ambulance for a possible heart attack, I spent 4 hours on a trolley (it was very busy, to be fair), put in a cubicle for another 2 hour wait. Blood taken and tested and told they would repeat the test in 3 hour (around 2 am). Treated well by staff, given gown and blankets and told to get some sleep prior to 2nd blood test. After 2nd test, told to get some sleep, woken up and told to dress at 3:30 am, discharged 3:45 am to walk home in the rain to kingsthorpe. Told by receptionist that ward sister could arrange transportation, and told by the ward sister that she couldn't. walked home in the rain across racecourse at 4 am. 65 years old, walking difficulties (walk with a stick). Surely there must be some service for getting a person home.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Northampton General Hospital (Acute)

Dear Mr Coy We’re sorry for the confusion, and for any additional distress you were caused. The receptionist was correct in saying that we do offer transport to those patients who have a demonstrable need. However we don’t routinely offer transport home to patients who are able to walk, and we consistently explore whether a patient discharged from the care of A&E can either get a taxi or be picked up by a family member. Unfortunately we have no record of whether you were asked how you were going to get home but we sincerely apologise if you feel that we let you down in this respect. We do hope you have had no recurrence of your symptoms and that you are now feeling much better. Best wishes from NGH.

Updates, changes and questions related to this story