"This is the Worst Hospital Ive ever been to"

About: Wycombe Hospital

This hospital greeted me with a rude receptionist at Accident and Emergency. I was in tears after her scathing rude cold and aggressive manner. The first nurse was lovely and sympathetic. I quickly learnt its a teaching hospital which could be why I was poked and prodded by many junior doctors. I was operated on that night, all was fine, until I woke up. The nurse in recovery gave me wrong information about my operation which left me confused. i was then left with no obs being taken for more than five hours, I had no pain killers administered and had to argue with nurses and doctors for some pain relieft as soon as I said I was not happy they promptly moved me to another ward which was reminiscient of Euston station with lots of male visitors to other patients all staring at me, making it difficult and embarrassing to get up and go to the toilet with an open at the back gown. I was given no food, no water, yet other paitents were lavished with attention from nurses. I was discharged with little intervention in my wounds despite me saying I had a painful hard lump.... two days out of hospital the lump they didnt bother to investigate turned out to be a bad abcess and I had to go to another hospital to have another operation,, this was Milton Keynes General Hospital who were wonderful, fed me, gave me drugs, gave me water, and looked after me. I was bruised beyond belief from the Stoke Mandeville, both my hands overly bruised and swollen I am not old, and no one could give me any reason why I sustained so much bruising, This hospitals nursing care was disgusting, there was so many other things that they did, but I cannot go into it,,,, shocking,, dont go there....

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wycombe Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are really sorry to read about your experience and thank you for your feedback. If you haven't done so already, please can you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) so that we can discuss the matter in more detail and take any action required. PALS are contactable on 01296 316042 or pals@buckshealthcare.nhs.uk Kind regards

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story