"gynaecology appointments nightmare!"

About: Lister Hospital

After repeated mixups and cancellations of long awaited appointments my 77 year old mum was finally seen by a lovely consultant in gynaecology last tuesday. We were told my mums growth was possibly cancer and to have an urgent mri scan within two weeks and then come back in three weeks to discuss the results. The consultants appoinment came through within a few days for exactly three weeks time. No scan appointment arrived. I rang the department on Friday and was told i couldnt make a scan appointment it had to be done by mums GP. Her doctor rang the hospital today and was told 'there are no appointments available' my mum is on a list! We will end up having to cancel the consultants next appointment as there will be no scan to discuss! The next thing will be once again mixups and cancellations, meanwhile my poor mum is suffering. The frontline staff have all been brilliant but something is very wrong behind the scenes, the staff making appointments need extensive training and to communicate with each other.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Lister Hospital

We're really sorry about what has happened - please can you email us at generalenquiries.enh-tr@nhs.net so that we can get this sorted - there clearly has been a problem with the request from your mother's consultant for an urgent MRI scan - we can get this sorted for you but need you to email us so that we can take this forward.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story