"Thyroid ultrasound"

About: University Of Bristol Dental Hospital

My thyroid support friends were worried I had a goitre so I asked my GP if I could be referred for a thyroid ultrasound. Unfortunately by the time the ultrasound appointment approached, which was 6 weeks later, my goitre went down and the radiographer saw nothing abnormal. She then explained that the thyroid was "not completely abnormal" and "pretty much normal". Which one is it then? She also went on to say I have no thyroiditis - which I was told by my endocrinologist back in January this year that I do have - in fact I have Hashimoto's thyroiditis - and also added that my dose of Levothyroxine is not at a high enough dose. So she's a qualified doctor as well as a radiographer? Sorry, but my opinion of you has not changed since my visit to obtain my ultrasound report earlier this year.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from University Of Bristol Dental Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on NHS Choices. We are sorry that you didn’t have a positive experience at your appointment and that you were left unclear about the results of your thyroid ultrasound. We would encourage patients to ask our staff during the appointment if anything they’ve been told isn’t clear, or if it conflicts with another medical opinion that they have been given. However, we appreciate that this isn't always possible and our Patient Support and Complaints Team are also available to help (email pals@uhbristol.nhs.uk or telephone 0117 342 3604). Thank you again for your feedback – we will share this with the team.

Updates, changes and questions related to this story