"Someone needs to get a grip on this department"

About: City Hospital campus

A 10.45 appointment, but running nearly two hours late, compounded by anyone with a barely credible excuse such as "got a bus to catch" or friends of employees' jumping the queue. When my turn finally came,it was catch up time, and i was in and out in less than 5 minutes. Imminent test results were to decide the level of medication required. The call with those never came, and after nearly a month i started phoning the secretary. The system then, apparently, is to e mail the consultant, rather than speak to them, or, heaven forbid, mention it when they are face to face, which is fine if they respond, but in this case, when they dont, not much use at all. After a five week delay, i finally get the test results. I have moved to another hospital

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you highlighting areas where we could do better, as this helps us to improve the service we provide.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused by the waiting time for your appointment. At the time you visited the clinic (December 2013) there was, unfortunately, an issue with clinics becoming overbooked which is likely to have been what contributed to your waiting time and the relatively short time you spent with the consultant. Happily, this problem has now been resolved.

With regards to your test results, we apologise for the delay in you receiving them. According to our records, after you attended the clinic on 17 December letter was sent to you on around 21 December explaining that further blood work was needed and that you would be seen in clinic again to receive your results (we would not have called you to give results over the phone). Unfortunately, there was then a delay in obtaining the results from haematology; however these results were sent to your GP on 5 February. Please accept our apologies for your further wait.

I do not understand your reference to email as this is not the only means of communication at our disposal, and communication between the consultant and consultant's secretary was not a factor in the delay; it was simply that further blood work was necessary before your results could be generated, and the results of this further investigation took some time to be received.

Again, we apologise for any inconvenience caused, and we appreciate your feedback, which has been shared with colleagues in the department.

Rachel Spencer

Administration Manager for Respiratory, Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology.


Bev Brady

Matron, Respiratory, Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology.

Updates, changes and questions related to this story