"Weekend Care"

About: Conquest Hospital

Never, ever be seriously ill in the Conquest at weekends or bank holidays, the place is dead, deserted and frightening. There is nothing available for the visitor who may have travelled miles to sit for many hours with a sick relative and when you are visiting a seriously ill relative not being able to talk to a consultant to get any information or get a meal or a decent cup of tea is absolutely miserable and depressing. All that is on offer is a skeleton hospital staff who honestly do their very best for the patient but there are no consultants or trained physiotherapists who are essential to relieve suffering. A truly miserable and sad experience. It seems the people who get the best treatment are those who are well enough to shout and make a fuss, not the seriously ill, elderly or dying

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Conquest Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about weekend cover and facilities for visitors at the Conquest Hospital. We welcome all feedback and would like to assure you that all comments are taken seriously and acted upon as part of our ongoing commitment to improving patients and visitors experience. We note that your posting indicates that you visited in November 2012. We are very disappointed and concerned to read your comments about weekend cover and have forwarded them to the Medical Director and Deputy Director of Nursing. In respect of facilities for visitors we have a coffee shop called "Mr Bean" that is open from 10am -5pm on Saturdays and 12.30 - 5.30pm on Sundays. We apologise if you were not made aware of this when you were visiting your sick relative. If you are willing, we would welcome the opportunity to discuss your comments further. If you would like to do this please make contact via our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) team who will make the necessary arrangements. PALS can be contacted by phone 01424 758090, by email PALSH@esht.nhs.uk.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story