"pleased with the changes made over the years"

About: Lynfield Mount Hospital / Adult mental health service

(as a service user),

I started using the mental health services twenty years ago and feel that staff were not proactive about the risks and safety of patients. I remember the times when patients just came and left the ward but unfortunately staff did not intervene as they were not interested in mental health patients.

However I am pleased to say that over the years changes for the better have occurred which has led to better patient safety and the staff are generally interested in working with patients who have mental health needs. I am extremely happy with the care received on Maplebeck ward and by the consultant Dr Iqbal who I believe is very caring and understanding.

I am also very pleased with my social worker as she is introducing me to the mental health groups in my community to help with stabilising my mental health state.

Overall I am pleased with the changes made over the years and extremely satisfied with the support and care I receive

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Bradford District Care Trust

I am sorry to hear that in the past you have not received the care you would have expected. It is however really pleasing to hear about the positive changes you have seen over the years in our services.

Our whole team work hard to respond to and change things that are not successful or where things go wrong. It is great when these changes affect our patients in such a positive way, and that they take time to tell us about it.

You have mentioned some of the many professionals involved in your care which highlights to me that the care afforded to our patients is not that of one person, but that of a team who work together. This is what we aim for and to hear that these different people can collectively have an impact on your health is really good news.

I wish you well and thank you again for taking time to tell us about your experience. Your feedback has been shared with our team

Bev Knaggs

Inpatient Services Manager

Updates, changes and questions related to this story