"Lack of confidence"

On the 21st April my daughter went to the A&E department as she was suffering with vomiting, fever and shakes which she'd had for the previous couple of days and felt were getting worse, therefore became quite frightened. She was dismissed by a nurse with flu and told to take paracetamol, however the following day her condition was so bad that our local GP referred her to the Queens Hospital Burton where she was admitted until Friday afternoon, ie 4 nights. On the Monday her temperature was over 40. Thanks to the care she received at the Queens Hospital Burton she has now almost recovered, but her visit to the Samuel Johnson did not instil any of us with confidence. We have remained anonymous as we are not looking to blame any particular individual, but feel a lack of confidence in that nurses are left to diagnose potentially very poorly people without enough knowledge of what may actually be wrong with them.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Samuel Johnson Community Hospital

We are so sorry to hear about your daughter's recent illness and pleased to hear that she is now almost recovered. We always welcome feedback on our services as it is an important step in helping us to constantly improve the quality of patient care we deliver at our three hospital sites. Thank you for your positive feedback about the care your daughter received at Queen's Hospital, Burton. This will be passed on to the staff involved. We are sorry to hear you were not happy with the care given at Samuel Johnson on the Sunday. At that stage your daughter's symptoms could have been flu in which case rest and paracetamol were appropriate advice. But we do appreciate the distress and upset your daughter and your family suffered in getting her correctly diagnosed and treated and we will forward your concerns and your comments to staff at Samuel Johnson.

Updates, changes and questions related to this story