"1 nurse ruined an otherwise perfect experience"

About: Arrowe Park Hospital

Anything else?

i am so grateful to everyone who cared for me,however,there was one unfortunate exception the evening before my discharge.A night nurse noticed that the needle in my arm looked very sore as indeed it was,she said she would remove it in a minute that was at 8.50 pm.She said 4 times, that she would remove it in a minute.time passed by and by and by,my arm was very itchy and sore.There was ample time for her to complete this simple task,but it felt to me that she was doing her best to avoid it.Icould not sleep because I was in such discomfort.at one point she sat down to read files,i was situated in a bed next to the desk.Eventually at 2.40 am.i asked her if she was going to remove it. When she finally did come to my bedside it was nearly 3 am.It took less than 20 seconds to remove.I hope I never meet this nurse again,she was loud,autocratic and quite overbearing,i imagine that some people would be intimidated by her,particulary elderly or very ill.I am 72 years old,in poor health but I have all my facilities and did not appreciate the way I was treated.Everybody from paramedics,Accident and emergency,doctors,and nurses were so kind,but unfortunately it only takes one rotten apple to spoil a barrel. Thank you for letting me unload my opinion,i don't intend to take this matter further but it is important for people not to be complacent or accepting or afraid of such people.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Arrowe Park Hospital

We are very sorry to hear about your experience at Arrowe Park Hospital. Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust is committed to the provision of high quality care for all patients, however we realise that there may be times when we do not always get things right. We will share your comment with the Emergency department. However, if you would like for us to look into your concerns further, we will need personal details and more information about what happened. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, you can ring the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on freephone 0800 432 0251, email wih-tr.pals@nhs.net or in writing to PALS, Arrowe Park Hospital, Arrowe Park Road, Upton, Wirral, CH49 5PE. PALS can discuss the best way that we can address your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story