"Parking fine at Wansbeck General hosiptal"

About: Wansbeck Hospital / Maternity care

(as the patient),

The parking at Wansbeck has never been great but the recent changes and removal of a patient car park being now a staff car park makes it even harder to find a space. I recently attended a pre natal appointment with a consultant at the hospital, after previous problems in pregnancy we are always little worried and apprehensive about these appointments. Being 34 weeks pregnant I hoped to find a space near the relevant entrance. However this was not possible, I eventually parked my car and paid for an hour at the ticket machine. During my appointment the consultant became concerned while scanning; they informed us they wanted us to go to the RVI to fetal medicine to be checked there. I then had to wait 20 minutes for an appointment to make. This was all fine and I am happy with the care I received from the pregnancy assessment unit. Obviously we were very worried and attended out RVI appointment days later.

However a few days later we received a parking fine, I was 4 minutes over the time I had paid on my car park ticket! I think this is outrageous considering I was late due to the appointment running over and waiting for a second appointment at a different hospital on request of the consultant that we wait. I certainly was not thinking about the car parking ticket at this time but of the health of our unborn child. I am highly disappointed with the new system that you have in place. We have had no issues in the past and have praised the hospital to others for their care we have received but going to hospital shouldn't mean worrying about the parking and the possibility of receiving a parking fine. What will happen when I go into labour? Will my husband be expected to top the ticket up when it runs out and run the risk of missing the birth?

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Wansbeck Hospital

Dear Madam I was really disppointed to learn that you had received a parking notice after running over your parking time by 4 minutes. I’m sorry. We would never want any of patients or their families to worry about parking and the possibility of receiving a parking notice when they visit one of our hospitals. I understand that your appointment run over and that both you and your husband were concerned about your unborn child in that moment. I am sure I can help, please email me at Joanne.Mackintosh@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk I was really pleased to know that you have always experienced high levels of care from staff at Wansbeck Hospital, thank you for sharing this with us. Best Wishes Jo

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust We are preparing to make a change

Dear Madam

I am really sorry that you have had a poor experience of the new parking system. I was disappointed to learn that you had received a parking notice after running over your parking time by 4 minutes.We would never want any of patients or their families to worry parking and the possibility of receiving a parking notice when they visit one of our hospitals.

I understand that your appointment run over and that both you and your husband were concerned about your unborn child in that moment. I feel sure I can help, please email me at Joanne.Mackintosh@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk

I was really pleased to know that you have always experienced high levels of care from staff at Wansbeck Hospital, thank you for sharing this with us.

Best Wishes

Jo

Updates, changes and questions related to this story