"A&E Totally Dissapointed"

About: Wansbeck Hospital Wansbeck Hospital / Accident and emergency

(as the patient),

In was in Wansbeck A&E a while ago with a kidney infection, bear in mind I have suffered with my kidneys since I was around 3 years old until I was around 11 years old, because of this I suffered scarring to my kidneys, and I am now 26, although for around 15 years I have had no problems until recently. My mother was told all those years ago I would have to be checked every year to keep an eye on my scarred kidney.

That never happened, anyway back to A&E via doctors who sent me straight through to A&E and was told I would be admitted, anyway I saw a doctor who was very abrupt with me and told me to take antibiotics to clear up any infection I may have, and I was discharged with antibiotics and told to make an appointment with my GP when I had finished the course. 5 days into my course of antibiotics I was back in A&E as the pains were considerably worse and obviously the antibiotics weren't working and I was seen by another doctor who I thought was so much better mannered and took the time to do routine blood tests and urine tests, and then came and gave me codine painkillers. They told me they were requesting ultrasound scans to see why I was in so much pain and I would be seen as an outpatient in around 4-6 weeks when I would get an appointment through the post.

So, I am now 2 months on and I am still yet to receive the appointment I was told I would get and I ended up back at A&E with pains in my right side. 111 and 999 seemed to think it could be appendicitis but when I saw triage, after giving them my medical history, I was told it was probably yet another kidney infection. Still bearing in mind I was in pain and it was visible I was in pain, but I was sent back to the waiting room to wait and be seen by a doctor, I was told there was one person in front of me. So I sat in pain and couldn't get comfortable. Anyway whilst in the waiting room I saw 2 people come in through A&E.

I couldn't understand why these people were seen above me even though I had told triage I was in excruciating pain. So, first of all, I would like to know why people who present at A&E and appear to be there because of the affects of alcohol get to be seen before me. Secondly, where is my appointment for the scans because had I of had them prior to now maybe I would be getting the care I need to prevent more kidney infections occurring and causing me pain. I can't continue to live like this and it's not fair and the pain gets worse each time. I have no idea how I start the complaints procedure, so my next resort is leaving a story on here, and first thing on Monday morning I will be going to citizens advice for advice on how to complain.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Joanne Mackintosh, Service Improvement Project Manager, Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Kaylz

I was really disappointed to learn that you have not had a good experience during your recent visits to A&E. I am so sorry that your care has not felt coordinated and consistent, we do understand how important this is to our patients.

I understand how difficult it must have been to wait in A&E when you were experiencing such a lot of pain and feeling that other patients were being ahead of you. I absolutely understand your frustration at not receiving the appointment you were promised.

Due to the anonymous nature of your feedback it is really difficult to provide a more personalised response for you. I would really like to help you resolve this. If you feel this would be helpful to you, please contact me at Joanne.Mackintosh@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk

Best wishes


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story