"two ambulances and doctor later...disgusted!"

About: William Harvey Hospital

Anything else?

attended by ambulance with severe stomach pain late at night, seen by doctor and sent home with no pain relief just blood test carried out, went home suffered more, called doctor out next day, by now i had high temp so doctor said if i wasnt better in 3 hrs call ambulance, eventualy called ambulace again, taken to a+e, saw a very rude nurse who told me to stop complaining as it was only constipation?...... the nurse made me feel i was waisting thier resouces and time and as i suffer anxiety i left after she forced me to sit in waiting room despite my pain!.... she said it was 5-6 hr wait for a doctor. went home in pain again, partner phoned hospital and spoke to same nurse who was then rude to him. went to gp next day who sent me to hospital again, after waiting hours in A+E managed to see doctor who admited me for scans, had ct scan after doc managed to persuade ct staff to do it, and found out i had pancreatitis. Hospital at bursting point, not enough beds,staff etc, hospital needs extending to cope, and as for the triage nurse, she needs to retrain and improve her attitude, the cleaners on night shift need to do some work instead of playing on thier phones, however the staff that serve meals etc are friendly and dedicated and the ward staff are too. just hope i dont have to go back to this place.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Julie Pearce, Chief Nurse + Director of Quality + Operations, East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for providing us with feedback, I am very sorry to hear of your experience which falls short of the standards we would expect. If you would like me to investigate this further for you, then please do email me on Julie.pearce1@nhs.net.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from William Harvey Hospital

We are sorry to hear of the problems that you experienced and disappointed that you left the hospital because of the care that you received and had to re-attend. If you contact the Patient Experience Team at ekh-tr.patientexperienceteam@nhs.net or 01227 783145 they will help you to resolve any concerns you have about future care and advise you on how best to take your concerns forward. In the meantime the concerns you have raised will be forwarded to the division who is responsible for the Accident and Emergency Department at the William Harvey Hospital to ensure that they learn from the feedback. We will also ensure your compliment regarding the staff that serve the meals is fed back also.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story