"Poor bedside manner"

About: Sir Robert Peel Hospital

Anything else?

I visited this hospital as they had an earlier appointment in neurology than my home town burton on trent.. Boy do I wish I had gone to burton. I waited 40 minutes to see the neurologist which I wasn't too fussed about although there was nobody before me in that time, but the neurologist I saw performed some tests so fast that I couldn't keep up, he criticized me for seeing a chiropractor and when I asked his opinion he said he thinks that's non of my buisness as he's the neurologist and will await MRI results before he will even discuss anything. He said I must be a hypochondriac the fact I have taken myself to accident and emergency so many times this year and wasted people times?? When I told him I was advised to by Nhs direct he said they don't know how to do their job properly. Well I left feeling disgusted and managed to get an appointment at burton and was treated with respect and spoken to like a human being I can safely say I will not be returning to sir Robert peel agsin

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Sir Robert Peel Hospital

We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. We can only apologise for the way in which you have been treated and we would like to look in to this for you. Burton Hospitals are committed to providing an excellent patient experience and if this falls below standard we need to understand why this has happened. We would encourage you to make contact with more specific information relating to your individual case. Please can you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on pals@burtonft.nhs.uk or by phoning 01283 593110 (voicemail for out of hours calls). This will enable an investigation to be carried out and will help us to improve the patient experience provided in the future. We value all patient feedback and appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your personal experience.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story