"I use this hospital alot but have seen a downfall..."

About: University Hospital Of North Durham

Anything else?

I have used this hospital a lot over the years due to my son being born with a congenital abnormality and suffered with fits etc.. I mainly attended ward 7 and the orthopaedic near A & E. While my son was younger he was extremely poorly and we ended up on ward 7 for a number of weeks and was then transferred to the RVI. He was in and out of Ward 7 for several month thereafter. During this period the staff were friendly and did all they could to help my son and myself to understand what was happening to him. I felt i was given all the information I needed and they answered all my questions. The only thing that did annoy me during this time was the fact that while my son was still recovering they discharged him and he ended up in Sunderland hospital the day after, having picked up a bad strain of the rota virus from ward 7. Since this time my son regularly visits Ward 7 and the orthopaedic department for reviews. I have seen a dramatic downfall in management and the behaviour of staff and the services they work along side i.e. physiotherapists. I was given an appointment to see his consultant in the orthopaedic dept arrived early to be told that he doesn't have one.The receptionist tried to convince me that I had made the appointment date up myself and that nobody told me to attend. I was really annoyed the distance I travelled to get there and the rudeness that awaited me. Fortunately The consultant is extremely nice and saw my son anyway. Along side his orthopaedic appointments he is supposed to see his physiotherapist that is based in chester le street hospital who arranges his appointments with the consultant and orders his aids. I received a letter through the door from his consultant on ward 7 stating that my sons physiotherapist had discharged him some time ago. The letter makes me look like a liar comes across rude and abrupt. I have not been told this at all nor is it in writing from the physiotherapist and in actual fact I have been on the phone to the steps charity and they stated that he should not be discharged from physio whilst still using boots and bar, splints, frame and walking boots. They stated that i am well with in my rights and stated that i am better off transferring his care due to the neglect from the physio service. The steps charity informed me that i can apply for DLA for my son to aid him within the home. I did this and have been scrutinised by the hospital for doing so hence why i believe their attitudes have changed toward my son and myself. I will in due course transfer his care to Sunderland and will also be writing a letter of complaint.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospital Of North Durham

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent visit to the Orthopaedics department at University Hospital of North Durham. I am very sorry to hear about the problems you have had whilst attending our Trust and that you were unhappy with your experience on this occasion. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you. If you feel this would be useful please contact the Trust’s Patient Experience Team on 0800 7835774. If you would prefer to contact us by e-mail, our address is patient.experience@cddft.nhs.uk Alternatively, you can write to us at the following address: - Patient Experience Team Darlington Memorial Hospital Hollyhurst Road Darlington County Durham DL3 6HX If you do decide to contact us, please make us aware that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website. The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients. Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices. Patient Experience Team County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust Tel: 0800 7835774

Updates, changes and questions related to this story