"Consultants Don't listen"

About: Royal Lancaster Infirmary

Anything else?

I have been attending this hospital for many years with excellent medical and nursing care being provided but recently I was very disappointed to find that Consultants in the Acute 'Medical Unit did not listen to what I said. On discharge I was horrified to find that whilst waiting in Ambulatory Care for my medication that a patient who had come in for a biopsy was spoken to in front of others by a Radiologist about the procedure surely this should have been done in private?

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Lancaster Infirmary

We are sorry you were upset by this experience. This clearly was inappropriate and we have spoken to members of staff and reminded them of the appropriateness of their conversations with patients. If you would like us to look into this further and report back personally to you please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01539 795497. Many thanks for pointing this out to us to allow us to take action to ensure staff are reminded that their behaviour should be appropriate.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story