"Appointment reminders"

About: Cumberland Infirmary

Anything else?

On Tuesday 8 October 2013 I received an automated telephone call reminding me that I have an appointment at the Orthopaedic Department on Monday 14 October 2013. At 18.50 on the same day I received a telephone call from a female. It was a garbled message, and was difficult to understand the reason for the call. It was when I was asked to confirm my personal details, I asked just who exactly was calling, to be told that it was the Cumberland Infirmary, offering a new service advising patients of their appointments. This is not the Cumberland Infirmary offering a new service, it was nothing more than a nuisance call which I deeply resented, particularly in view of the fact that I had already received a reminder earlier that day, and to receive a call in the evening, when I was preparing my meal, was unacceptable and totally unnecessary. In an effort to make a complaint I contacted Appointments at the Cumberland Infirmary, and was advised the names of people I should speak to in Appointments, also a Business Manager and a Patient Advice Liaison Officer. It came as no surprise to me that none of these people were available to take telephone calls, all of which has caused me considerable frustration and anger, particularly because the team employed to contact patients, at an unnacceptable time of the day, are no doubt being paid, probably over and above their usual hourly rate, and is just another example of waste of time, resources all resulting in extra costs. I have already had cause to make a complaint about the serious lack of appropriate treatment in A&E. No point going down the route of negligence - I know just what is involved. This was addressed, I had a meeting, and apologies were accepted Please remove my details from the appointment reminder system.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Cumberland Infirmary

Thank you for letting us know about your difficulties with the appointment reminder service and we are sorry that this disturbed you and was inconvenient. There is an opportunity to opt out of this service and if you contact the appointments service they can make these arrangements for you. This should have been mentioned during your call. Alternatively, when you attend the hospital, please make the staff aware of this and they can help to resolve this for you. Our Patient Advice and Liaison Officer may have been with another client when you called, but do leave a message on the answer machine and she will always return the call.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story