"Very Scared to go back now"

About: Royal Bolton Hospital

Anything else?

Heard plenty of horror stories about the maternity unit and the staff being horrible. Never expected to need to go there myself but now at 21 weeks pregnant I suppose its inevitable . Antenatal clinic were OK- a lady i saw think she was a doctor after my 20 week scan hadn't a clue what she was doing the BP band fell of my arm 2 times why she was trying to do it- left me standing up why she was doing it did it 4 times . i have a high bmi not a clue what she was on about telling me the risks of a high bmi i knew more than her! she tested my urine said a trace of leukocytes after looking at the dip stick for over 15 mins! then said it will be sent off i rang up a week later said there was protein in my wee at a test done at 14 weeks but i was never told? but said 20 week was fine. i didn't trust this decision so had one done at my doctors a few days later to find a bad UTI . I now have a glucose tolerance test at 28 weeks and am pretty certain if there was anything wrong it will be missed! this is a long awaited baby and UTI in pregnancy can be serious even I know that. To add my two friends where left 7 weeks from the 12 week scan to be told they had a UTI which i think is horrible. They are meant to do what is best for mother and baby and i think they are just doing whats easiest for them! apparently i also should be consultant led with a BMI of 38 but am totally midwife led and should have extra growth scans. but nothing mentioned nor did they even seem to care. and with another 19 weeks to go am truly scared and will continue to be stressed up until i get a healthy baby at my house

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Bolton Hospital

Thank you for your comment. I am very sorry you had such an unsatisfactory experience when you attended the antenatal clinic. It is always useful to receive feedback from the women who use our service to enable us to improve the service in the future. If you would like to discuss your concerns further please can you contact me on 01204 390725. Carole Bullough Clinical Manager Maternity and Gynaecology

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story