"spoken to like they didnt care"

About: The James Cook University Hospital

Anything else?

i had been suffering with gallstones since i was 15 years old and recently underwent gallbladder removal surgery. the night before (19th july 2013) i was due to go into hospital for the surgery i took ill and had a 'gallbladder attack'. i was waiting in a&e for over 3 hours and finally got seen to. the nurse that dealt with me wasnt very helpful or reasuring and told me that there wasnt much she could do but give me painkillers. i was given oramorph and sent home. later that night i was still in agony and rang the '111' service and they decided to send me out an ambulance to take me back into a&e, as soon as we arrived to a&e me and my partner and the ambulance staff where greeted by a rude nurse that had attitude and said "i treated her earlier! send her into the waiting room!" which i thought was extremely unprofessional and rude. once we got seen to again it was by the rude lady nurse that had seen me previously. she still had attitude and spoke to me in a aggressive manor and told me again there was nothing she could do but give me painkillers and that she would have to check if i was alowed any more painkillers (which is fair enough) i waited in a&e with my partner for over 2 hours and no one came to speak to me. my partner had to go into the main desk and ask. after waiting so long they told him i would not be alowed any painkillers and told me to go home. once i got home i was still unsatisfied with the service i had recieved. i rang '111' again and explained and they put me through to 'northern doctors' i was given an appointment there and had to make my way over at 4am. the doctor there was shocked that they had not done anything about my condition and called the hospital to tell them i would be coming into hospital a day early. i then made my way back over to james cook where they gave me pain killers and anti sickness. i had my gallbladder removed the following day. i was extremely disappointed with this nurse in paticular her sheer lack of care and negative attitude just made my situation that much worse. it was only this person that reflected this rudeness and negativity.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from The James Cook University Hospital

Dear Leanne Thank you for your feedback regarding the care and treatment you recently received. I am extremely sorry to hear that you have had such a negative experience and I will forward your concerns onto the Management team responsible for the A & E department for their information, investigation and action. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, and would like some feedback from the department regarding the issues you have raised, please make contact with Patient Relations Department at JCUH on: Freephone 0800 0282451 or by email to PALS@stees.nhs.uk Yours sincerely Mrs Linda Oliver Patient Experience Co-ordinator

Updates, changes and questions related to this story