"friendly nurses....one healthcare assistant very..."

About: Huddersfield Royal Infirmary

Anything else?

I stayed on ward 22 for 3 days after my operation. The nurses and healthcare assistants were very friendly and caring. Although one healthcare assistant was very rude, ignorant and ill mannered. She stood huffing and puffing while i was struggling to get out of bed and offered no help. When i told her my wound was leaking and i was in pain, she said she would tell the nurse but never did so i pressed my buzzer and when she came back she asked 'what was wrong now?!' By this time my pj's were soaking wet, so was the bed and i was in more pain than ever! (i finally got my wound seen to and sorted an hour after telling her!!) As a healthcare worker myself, i wouldn't dream of treating my patients the way she did with me! Apart from her, the other ward staff were very pleasant, especially the night staff! The ward was very clean and i felt comfortable... despite my pain.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Huddersfield Royal Infirmary

We are pleased to hear that generally all went well, but are obviously very disappointed to hear of the way you were treated by a healthcare assistant, which is obviously not what we want for our patients. We are, however, very grateful to you for providing feedback on both counts as we do need to know what our patients are experiencing. We hope you are now recovering well.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story