"The cost of car park is terrible. ..."

About: Queen's Hospital, Burton Upon Trent

(as a relative),

What I liked

The cost of car park is terrible. If your going in to see your ill child for lets say 5 days and you spend most of the day there, thats £25. Why should I have to pay such high charges to visit my ill family. This car park is just a big money making operation. I from now on will be parking in the street and walking a little further.

What could be improved

Reduce the price of the car park to cover only the running costs only, not as a profit making machine.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Queen's Hospital, Burton Upon Trent

Visitors may be entitled to a reduction in parking costs at a concessionary rate of £1 per day or £20 per month. Refunds will only be given if the amount to be repaid is £10 or more. An Application Form must be signed by an authorised staff member.

Concessionary parking may be considered for:

Patients attending for Chemotherapy or Cardiac Rehabilitation

Patients attending either as an Emergency or to an outpatient Clinic who require admission to Hospital

One visitor of a patient who has been in Hospital for over a week

Patients and visitors whom it is considered are eligible.

If you or a member of your family or friend wish to apply for concessionary parking, please speak with the staff in your ward/clinic, or contact the Patient Advice & Liaison Service on 01283 566333, extension 5284.

Queen's Hospital have not increased charges to the public in the last three years and we are comparatively lower than some organisations who charge a flat rate starting a £2. Any surplus that is made once costs are taken into consideration, goes back into patient care.